SEIU Illinois State Council Congratulates Winning Endorsed Candidates In Democratic Primary

SEIU Illinois State Council Congratulates Winning Endorsed Candidates In Democratic Primary

Candidates Will Fight for the Working Families of Illinois

CHICAGO – On behalf of the 150,000 janitors, security officers, health care and home care workers, public employees and more, the SEIU Illinois State Council proudly supported its endorsed candidates both financially and with an enthusiastic grassroots effort.  Hundreds of SEIU members knocked on more than 40,000 doors and made thousands of calls. More than 200,000 pieces of literature were sent to communicate with voters and nearly $500,000 was donated in direct contributions to the endorsed candidates.  In addition, thousands of text messages and live calls were used to turn out SEIU members for the endorsed candidates.

The following statement is from SEIU Illinois State Council President Tom Balanoff:

“The SEIU Illinois State Council is proud to stand with and congratulate our winning endorsed candidates in Tuesday’s Democratic primary election.

“These candidates will best represent the interests and values of working families in our great state by fighting for a $15 minimum wage, higher wages for all and affordable health care.

“We look forward to continuing our partnership with them in the fight for economic, immigrant, racial and environmental justice.”

The victorious SEIU-endorsed candidates include:

Jesus “Chuy” Garcia for Illinois 4th Congressional District

Kwame Raoul for Illinois Attorney General

Toni Preckwinkle for Cook County Board President

Karen Yarbrough for Cook County Clerk


Cook County Board of Commissioners

Brandon Johnson, 1st District

Dennis Deer, 2nd District

Bill Lowry, 3rd District

Stanley Moore, 4th District

Deborah Sims, 5th District

Donna Miller, 6th District

Luis Arroyo Jr., 8th District

Bridget Degnen, 12th District

Larry Suffredin, 13th District


Illinois Senate

Ram Villivalam, 8th District

Iris Martinez, 20th District

Ann Gillespie, 27th District


Illinois House

Theresa Mah, 2nd District

Delia Ramirez, 4th District

Lamont Robinson Jr., 5th District

Sonya Harper, 6th District

Kelly Cassidy, 14th District

Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, 17th District

Robert Martwick, 19th District

Lisa Hernandez, 24th District

Justin Slaughter, 27th District

Robert “Bob” Rita, 28th District

Thaddeus Jones, 29th District

William “Will” Davis, 30th District

Mary Flowers, 31st District

Lance Yednock, 76th District

Natalie Manley, 98th District

Marsha Griffin, 115th District



Comments are closed.